The Unknown Future

felix-kayser-43337

I recently went on my first college tour. We were on vacation near the college where both of my parents graduated from and we decided to drop by and check it out. It was a great experience and it showed me some good steps I need to take to be the most college ready when I graduate. I have to admit, though, I was in a bad mood the entire time.

And I didn’t really even know why. I may have gotten up a little earlier than I had wanted and we may have been rushing to get there on time but neither of those reasons should have made me grumpy. But grumpy I was, and I think I may have figured out the problem.

You see, I like to always know what is going on, whether it’s the plan for the day or for the next 10 years, and visiting the college reminded me that the future is beyond control. That thought scared me and, without realizing it, I was in a bad mood because I was suddenly aware of the uncertainty of my future.

I can make plans (and I probably should) but I can’t plan my step by step guide for the rest of my life. Things happen and things change. And I sometimes struggle with that. I want to be in absolute control over my life and what happens at all times. I want to go through life with both hands on the wheel never letting go.

However, sometimes, I don’t know what’s best for me. Sometimes, I make a wrong turn, don’t follow the directions, and get lost. Being in control of my life suddenly leaves me alone and without help, lost in life and not knowing where to turn.

But, there is someone who never makes a mistake. Someone who never gets lost and who knows what’s best for me at all times. He has a much better plan, one that doesn’t fail and won’t change. He knows what’s best for all of us is holding our futures in his hands with gentle care and consideration. I may not know all the twists and turns in my life but there someone who does. And I fully surrender the reigns of my life to God.

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” – Jeremiah 29:11

I couldn’t write an article about the future without including this verse. It is very popular and has a great message. The reason many people find this verse so appealing is that it reminds us of who is in control and who is shaping our future. We don’t have to worry about what’s going to happen because God has got everything figured out already.

So, even though we don’t know where we’re headed, God is right by our side guiding us on our walk with him. So grab tight to his hand, give him your trust, and walk on knowing that you have hope and a future.

 

5 thoughts on “The Unknown Future

  1. This post reminded me of Proverbs 19:12: “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the LORD’s purpose that will stand.” I’m so glad I came across your blog! This truly spoke to my heart. Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

