Peace (Fruit of the Spirit)

So, I’ve been a little hesitant to post this. I actually wrote an entire post and then deleted it and started from scratch.

The thing is, peace is a touchy subject. As Christians, we are not called to live easy and comfortable lives. In fact, Jesus tells us that the world is going to hate and despise us just like they did to him.

So why is peace a fruit of the spirit? Many Christians are persecuted for their faith daily and are laughed at just for praying. How can we be at peace then?

We have peace because we know the eternal destiny of our souls. Though we face trials and struggles here, we are going to live with our heavenly father for eternity.

And not only that, but we have someone caring for us at all times. We have no need to fear because the one who can heal the sick, make the blind see, and move mountains with mere words loves us and is watching over our every step. Why should we worry? We should have an overwhelming peace at all times.

It doesn’t take the unity of the world, the greatness of a president, or even the stability of a job for us to be at peace. Peace isn’t the absence of troubles and worries, it’s the presence of God and the recognition that God is in control.

I’ve been reading a lot about peace lately and here are some of my favorite verses about it:

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” – 1 Peter 5:7.

He cares for you. No part of your life is insignificant or too small for God to care about. He cares about your science test just as much as he cares about a life threatening situation. Start trusting God with the small things in your life and when big troubles come, peace from and trust in God will be the natural response.

“Great peace have those who love your law, and nothing can make them stumble.” – Psalm 119:165.

Most sin is the result of insecurity and inner-war. When we focus on peace and loving and obeying God, this world can’t make us stumble because we won’t care what it thinks about us.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7.

Do you want to know how to get the peace of God? Prayer. Peace comes through asking God for it in every situation. I also love how this verse calls God’s peace incomprehensible. People will be amazed and astounded at your peace.

Those who focus on God will have peace because they aren’t focused on their worries. If we fix our eyes on the glory and wonder of our awesome God, our troubles will seem tiny and powerless (because they are).

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30.

I don’t know about you, but I am worn out and sick of being tired from carrying my own weight on my shoulders. I want to cast my troubles, my every worry, on the one who cares for me and will lift it from me. Although my physical body may be exhausted, my heart and soul will find a rest.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I was overcome the world.” – John 16:33.

Don’t let the world bog you down because the person living inside you has already overcome the world. How can the world worry us if our savior has already conquered it? We have a fountain of peace coming from the heart of our God!
Don’t live like the world is winning, have peace because the God of the universe has already won the war!

One thought on “Peace (Fruit of the Spirit)

Leave a Reply

